iStock 1072206958 1

What is the Gemeente?

Gemeente is Dutch for municipality, which is the most important unit of administrative division in the country. The Netherlands is divided into twelve provinces (they are the equivalent of the Polish voivodeships), but most formalities are dealt with by residents at the municipal offices (gemeentehuis). Power here is exercised by a board of directors (gemeentebestuur), with the main person being the mayor (burgemeester). The municipality is responsible for, among other things, spatial planning, local road infrastructure, school maintenance, waste management or health and social policy.